Thursday, July 17, 2014

Bookmaking students visit Artists’ Book Collection at Little Library, display their works

Part of the Artists' Book Collection
Students in the Art Studio Bookmaking class (A-S 390) led by Robert Dickes incorporated the more than one hundred-piece Artists’ Books Collection at the Lucille Little Fine Arts Library as part of their instruction during the 4-week Summer Session.
 The class spent several hours in the Little Library viewing and handling the books in the collection.  The students' projects will be exhibited in Little Library throughout the summer, along with recent acquisitions purchased with funds from the Donovan Trust.
Students in A-S 390

Artists whose work is in the A-S 390 exhibit are: Lucinda Chapman, Julie A. Edwards, Mackenzie Haag, Cristina Igelmo, Olivia Lasheen, and Marshall Smith. 

Adrian Ho presents on internationalization at ALA Annual Meeting

Adrian Ho presented a poster at the ALA Annual Meeting

Adrian Ho, Director of Digital Scholarship, recently presented a poster session, “Going Global: The Library as a Critical Player in Internationalizing a University” at the American Library Association Annual Meeting in Las Vegas. The poster offers a quick overview of the recent article published by Toni Greider in the ALA’s publication International Leads, available in UKnowledge.  

Special Collections Research Center hosts UK Summer Youth Program

Students from the UK Summer Youth Program
On Wednesday, July 1, 2014, archivists in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) hosted the UK Summer Youth Program. The archivists shared their work experiences and current projects, while answering the students' questions about what it means to be an archivist by explaining the varied aspects of the field including technology skills, research skills, critical thinking, and data analysis. 

Students toured archival processing areas, the Breckinridge Research Room, and specialized areas like the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History and the Digital Lab.  After their orientation to the SCRC the students performed active learning mini-projects utilizing archival processing skills. 

Coordinated by Chuck Emps, UK HR/Student Employment Office, and funded by the Office of the President, this year’s annual Summer Youth Program consists of a six-week agenda introducing approximately 15 minority high school students to academic and work environments at the University of Kentucky. The students also gain valuable work readiness skills. During the past 13 years, more than 100 young people have participated in the program, with many attending classes at UK following their experiences in the program. Other areas within UK Libraries, Little Fine Arts Library and Shaver Engineering Library,  also sponsored students in the program.

Gear-Up KY Summer Academy bridges history and technology at the Special Collections Research Center

Students in the Gear-Up class worked with
historical methods of communication
June 24 through the 26 the Special Collections Research Center hosted rising tenth graders from across Kentucky participating in the Gear-Up KY Summer Academy 2014. Students rotated through five different learning stations where they compared historical methods of communication and documents (telegrams, postcards, diaries, carte de visites, and pocket travel guides), with social media and current communication technologies (texting, Pinterest, blogs, Flickr, and MapQuest).   
Education and Outreach Archivist Jaime Marie Burton developed the active learning stations and coordinated with Gear-Up organizers to prepare the event.  Special Collections Research Center faculty and staff Ruth Bryan, Sarah Dorpinghaus, Megan Mummey, and Stacie Mari Williams also assisted students during classes.  Students recorded their findings, summarized what they learned during the session, and were provided a prompt for their daily program journal.  The sessions helped Gear-Up students practice their resource evaluation skills and get hands-on experience with historical artifacts and primary sources as part of the larger Gear-Up curriculum.

UK Librarians attend Medical Library Association meeting

Mary Congleton at MLA poster session
In May, several UK Medical Center Library librarians participated in the annual meeting of the Medical Library Association (MLA) meeting in Chicago. They included MCL Director Rick Brewer, Assistant Director for Access, Delivery and Outreach Laura Davison, Collection Coordinator Mary Congleton, Public Health Librarian Robert Shapiro, and Clinical Medical Librarian Frank Davis.

The theme of the meeting was “Building Our Information Future.”
Robert Shapiro, served as moderator for a session, “Lightning Talks for our Information Future.” Robert also served as moderator for the Public Health/Health Administration section program, “Building Common Ground: Partnerships with Faculty, Practitioners, Librarians, and the Community for Community-based Participatory Research.”  In addition, Robert served the past three-years on the National Program Committee which planned the 2014 annual meeting.

Frank Davis served as chair of the Cancer Librarians Section meeting. He was also an invited guest at the MLA Government Relations Committee meeting to discuss coordinating advocacy efforts for including more study results in - a registry and results database of clinical studies conducted around the world.

Mary Congleton presented a poster session, “Building Future Researchers: Training High School Research Academy Students in the Use of Academic Medical Library Electronic Collections.”

Laura Davison presented a poster session, “Mobile Outreach: An App a Day Keeps the Doctor Away.”

Congratulationss to all on their excellent representation of UK Libraries and the MCL.

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Earle C. Clements films digitized and available for viewing

Films featuring former United States Senator, U.S. Representative, and Kentucky Governor Earle C. Clements have been digitized and uploaded by the UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center. The films feature a “Report from Washington” segment (, a 1956 Senate re-election campaign advertisement (, and coverage of a visit by Senator Clements and Senator Everett Dirksen to Saigon (