Friday, June 19, 2015

Faculty Council elects new members and officers for 2015-2016

Cindy Cline is the new
chair of Faculty Council
The UK Libraries Faculty Council welcomes new members and officers for the 2015-2016 year. New members are: Beth Kraemer, Information Literacy; Jaime Marie Burton, director of Research Services in the Special Collections Research Center; and Kelly Vickery, director for Library Information Technology

The full slate of Faculty Council members is as follows:

  • Chair: Cindy Cline, Special Collections cataloguer
  • Chair-elect: Beth Kraemer
  • Past Chair: Jen Bartlett, head of William T. Young Library Reference Services
  • Secretary: Kathryn Lybarger, head of Cataloging and Metadata
  • Representative at-large:  Beth Fuchs, undergraduate learning librarian
  • Representative at-large: Jaime Marie Burton
  • University Senate representative: Kelly Vickery
  • Ex-officio: Dean Terry Birdwhistell

Thanks to all who serve on Faculty Council.

New Staff Advisory Council members and officers for 2015-2016

Rachel Combs is the new SAC chair
The UK Libraries Staff Advisory Council welcomes new members and officers for the 2015-2016 academic year. Rachel Combs, senior library technician in the Science Library, is the new chair of SAC. Lisa Beatty, library invoice technician, will serve as vice chair. Josh Monroe, monograph library specialist, is secretary. Other new members are Courtney Crepeau, department head for Interlibrary Loan, and Jeffrey Rion, Library IT. Abbye Allan, outgoing chair of SAC, will remain as an ex-officio member of the council.

Thanks to all for their service to SAC and UK Libraries.

"Kentucky African American Encyclopedia" receives Thomas D. Clark Medallion

Left to right: Gerald Smith, Karen McDaniels, Sherry Jelsma,
John Hardin, Stephen Wrinn, and President Eli Capilouto
The Kentucky African American Encyclopedia is the recipient of the 2015 Thomas D. Clark Medallion, awarded by the Thomas D. Clark Foundation to honor a book most representative of Dr. Clark’s vision for the University Press of Kentucky. The Encyclopedia editors, Gerald Smith, John Hardin, and Karen McDaniels accepted the award at the Kentucky Governor’s Mansion on June 12. Stephen Wrinn, director of UPK, and UK President Eli Capilouto spoke during the program about the importance of the Encyclopedia and the UPK.  Sherry Jelsma, outgoing president of the Clark Foundation, the foundation Board of Directors, and supporters from across the commonwealth attended the event.

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Melissa Barlow receives scholarship to CBMI

Melissa Barlow
Melissa Barlow, UK Libraries director of Finance and Administration, is the recipient of one of ten scholarships granted by the UK Office of the Provost for the 63rd annual College Business Management Institute, to be held July 26-31 at UK.

CBMI offers an intensive course of study in business and financial management for administrators of colleges and universities. More than 500 business officers and administrators, representing hundreds of colleges and universities of every size and description, attend each year. CBMI is designed to provide participants with an overview of current issues and procedures applicable to institutions of higher education, both large and small, public and private. Individuals participate in 28 hours of instruction each summer for three years to earn a certificate of completion. Distinguished faculty teach approximately 60 courses ranging from entry level to advanced.

Thanks to Melissa for representing UK Libraries at CBMI.  

Medical Center Library at Medical Library Association meeting

Four Medical Center Library faculty attended the Medical Library Association (MLA) Annual Meeting held in Austin, Texas, May 15-20.

Rick Brewer, Director of the MCL, presented a poster session entitled “Community College Outreach: Unlimited Opportunities” which was co-authored by Laura Davison, MCL Outreach Services Coordinator. Frank Davis, medical librarian, completed his three-year term as Chair of the Cancer Librarians Section of MLA. Robert Shapiro, public health librarian, began serving a three-year term as Chair of the Public Health/Health Administration Section of MLA. In addition, he presented on HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress database) on behalf of the National Library of Medicine. Mary Vaughn, medical librarian, also attended the annual conference.

Thanks to all for representing UK Libraries at this important meeting.