Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Employee Celebration honors long-time employees and outstanding staff

UK Libraries recognized the achievements of long-time employees and outstanding staff at the 2015 Employee Celebration held June 4 in William T. Young Library.

Faculty and staff with five, ten, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, and 50 years of service to UK received pins and awards to mark their tenure. Terri Brown, head of William T. Young Circulation, and Jen Bartlett, head of William T. Young Reference Services, spoke to honor, respectively, Stacks Supervisor Bob Turner and Academic Liaison for Hispanic Studies, History, Political Science, and Public Administration Judy Fugate. Both Bob and Judy marked 50 years of service to UK Libraries and the university.

Left to right: Janet Layman, Marie Dale, and Peggy Phillips
Three members of the staff each received the Dean’s Award for Outstanding Performance, bestowed upon individuals who have excelled in their work assignments, and who have worked at least three years at UK Libraries. Janet Layman, Cataloging and Metadata; Marie Dale, Administrative Associate in the Special Collections Research Center; and Peggy Phillips, Print Serials Coordinator, each received an engraved award and a cash stipend, and saw their names engraved on a perpetual plaque displayed in Young Library.  More about the Dean’s Award is available online via UKNow.

Special thanks to Daniel Naas for serving as master of ceremonies, Lewis Warden for photos, the Dean’s Office staff, Staff Advisory Council, and the Dean’s Award Jury. The individuals serving on these committees are as follows:

Staff Advisory Council
Abbye Allan, Chair
Jason Boczar
Benita Clarke
Shell Dunn

The Dean’s Award Jury Committee
Laura Hall, Chair
Martha David
Nancy DeMarcus
Mark Ingram
David Powell
Melissa Barlow, Ex-Officio

A complete list of faculty and staff receiving service awards is below:

2015 Service Awards

5 Years
Keith Barbour
Michael Brewster
Ed Brown
Peter Hesseldenz
Denise Hunter
Jason Keinsley
Heath Martin
Jeffrey Rion

10 Years
Kazuko Hioki
Eugenia Kempster
Deirdre Scaggs
Sue Smith

15 Years
James Baker
Frank Davis
Curt Miller
Stacy Yelton

20 Years
Terri Brown
Benita Clarke
Martha David

25 Years
Carla Cantagallo
Mary Molinaro
Laura Whayne

30 Years
Clay Gaunce
Bev Hilton
Reinette Jones
Judy Sackett
Debbie Sharp

35 Years
Rick Garrett
Debra Johnson
Lewis Warden

40 Years
Shirley Greene

50 Years
Judy Fugate

Bob Turner

Congratulations to all. 

No comments:

Post a Comment