Friday, August 9, 2013

Call for nominations for 2014 Award for Intellectual Achievement

The University of Kentucky Libraries invites nominations for the 2014 Award for Intellectual Achievement, which recognizes Kentuckians who have attained high intellectual achievement. Nominations for the honor will be accepted through September 12, 2013.

The UK Libraries Award for Intellectual Achievement, one of the Commonwealth of Kentucky's most prestigious awards, was created to recognize outstanding intellectual achievement by Kentuckians, and to encourage education and promote creative thought.  The UK Libraries National Advisory Board determines the recipient annually by majority vote. 

Created in 1990, the award recognizes those who produced a contribution of lasting value. Information about the 2013 recipient, John W. Egerton, can be found here: here

Past recipients of the award include Wendell Berry, James Still, Bobbie Ann Mason, Dr. Thomas D. Clark, Dr. Laman A. Gray, Jr., Dr. Guy Davenport, Dr. George C. Herring, Adalin Wichman, and Dr. John Anthony

Candidates, either a person or group, may be nominated with completion of the application and a nominating statement that describes the intellectual achievement realized in a scientific, artistic, literary, social or humanitarian field; significance of the achievement; and endorsements or verification of the work.

To be eligible, nominees must be a Kentucky native or had more than three years of study, work or residency in Kentucky.

To submit a nomination, complete the nomination form (

and send it to the Libraries Award Selection Committee, 1-85 William T. Young Library, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky 40506-0456.  For further information, contact Sherree Osborne.

No comments:

Post a Comment