Friday, September 17, 2010

Weekly Review

Little/Gaines Artist Series To Expand:

• The Lucille C. Little Fine Arts Library and Learning Center and the Gaines Center for the Humanities launches the second season of the popular collaborative artists series, which showcases the work of Kentucky artists and brings together artists in the same or different genres or mediums. This year six Little/Gaines Artists will team up with one or more collaborators in visual, literary, musical or dramatic arts to stage unique exhibitions as part of this series presented at the Niles Gallery, located in University of Kentucky's Little Fine Arts Library. The Little/Gaines Artist Series will begin with artist Ed Franklin at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 21.

Shawn Livingston Receives Carol J. Parris Mentoring Award:

• Shawn Livingston, Director of UK Libraries’ Information Services, received the 2010 Carol J. Parris Mentoring Award at this week’s Kentucky Library Association Annual Conference. The award recognizes “outstanding service to the future of the library profession” by mentoring one or more Kentucky librarians or library workers. Congratulations to Shawn on this honor.

Intellectual Achievement Medallion Nomination Call:

• The University of Kentucky Libraries invites nominees for the 2011 Libraries Medallion for Intellectual Achievement which recognizes Kentuckians who have attained high intellectual achievement. Nominations for the honor will be accepted through Sept. 30.

• The Libraries Medallion for Intellectual Achievement, one of UK's most prestigious awards, was created to recognize high intellectual achievement by Kentuckians, and to encourage education and promote creative thought. Final selection of the recipient of the Libraries Medallion Laureate is determined by majority vote of UK Libraries National Advisory Board. Created in 1990, the medallion recognizes those who produced a contribution of lasting value. Past recipients of the award include Wendell Berry, James Still, Bobbie Ann Mason, Thomas D. Clark, Laman A. Gray Jr., Guy Davenport and George C. Herring.

Terry Birdwhistell
Dean of Libraries

No comments:

Post a Comment