Saturday, May 4, 2013

Celebrating Kentucky Writers

Four faculty from Special Collections displayed books written by Kentucky's new Poet Laureate, Frank X Walker, as well as by the six authors recently inducted into the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame, at a celebration at the Lexington Carnegie Center for Literacy on April 27, 2013.

The display included two to three books from each author, including Walker and Hall of Fame inductees Harriette Simpson Arnow, William Wells Brown, Harry Caudill, Elizabeth Madox Roberts, James Still, and Robert Penn Warren.  In addition to first and later editions of their works, Special Collections also holds archival collections from each writer except William Wells Brown.

Gail Kennedy, Arts and Outreach Librarian, organized the display.  Also participating were Reinette Jones, Oral History Librarian and African American Studies Academic Liaison; Dr. Jim Birchfield, Curator of Rare Books; and Ruth Bryan, Director of Archives.  

No comments:

Post a Comment